The CPSU (SPSF) Group SA Branch and the PSA are dynamic organisations focussed on the needs and aspirations of members throughout South Australia as the principal trade unions representing workers who provide community services to South Australians.

The Constitution, rules, by-laws and legislation regulate how the Association is governed and operated. The Constitution and Rules of the Association are registered with the South Australian Industrial Relations Commission and the CPSU (SPSF) SA Branch rules are registered with the federal Fair Work Commission (FWC) and the Registered Organisations Commission (ROC). The SPSF Group rules are set-out in Chapter C of the CPSU rules.

Registered organisations are also subject to regulation of the Registered Organisations Act (RO Act). Two regulators, the FWC and the ROC, are established by the RO Act.